Slow Thrills albums of 2015: Noise

  • 0
Don't forget that the top 25 is here

Lovely noise (s)=stream via Spotify (r)= my review

Godspeed You! Black Emperor 'Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress' (s) | Sauna Youth 'Distractions' (s) | Lighting Bolt 'Fantasy Empire (s) (r) | A Place to Bury Strangers 'Transfixiation' (s) | Spectres 'Dying' (s) (r) | Butterfly Child 'Futures' (s) | Pinkshinyultrablast 'Everything Else Matters' (s) (r)| Teeth of the Sea 'Highly Deadly Black Tarantula' (s) | The Underground Youth 'Haunted' (s)| King Midas Sound 'Edition 1' (s)| Helen 'The Original Faces' (s)| Hey Colossus 'Radio Static High' (s)

If you aren't familiar with these albums then I'd recommend that you just dig into these via the streaming links "(s)" above.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor and Lightning Bolt both returned heavier than before, Pinkshinyultrablast came from St Petersburg and channelled the Cocteau Twins to great effect. Kevin Martin aka King Midas Sound collaborated with Christian Fennesz on the moody, engaging Edition1. Sauna Youth proved that there was still a place for shouty punk and The Underground Youth did the same for 80s goth. Teeth of the Sea created another imaginary soundtrack for dystopian film and Hey Colossus were in such great form that they released two of their best albums within months of each other. Spectres and A Place to Bury Strangers gave us some mightily abrasive interpretations of shoegaze, and the Butterfly Child released their first album for 15 years, which combined the sound of its predecessor Soft Explosives with their earlier guitar-based material. The most surprising of this lot was the debut by Helen, a band put together by Liz Harris aka Grouper, which was a delightful revisit of c86 style indie-pop.

No comments:

Post a Comment